Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Please use this forum to ask our resident IT geeks advice.
Post Reply
User avatar
sirch345
Site Admin
Posts: 17041
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 9:35 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK

Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by sirch345 » Wed Nov 09, 2016 10:42 pm

How can I find out the maximum amount of memory (RAM) my pc will take :?:
I've tried searching on the net without any success, and I have fired an email off to the manufactures after not finding this info in the manual, although I won't hold my breath on that one,

Any ideas chaps :?:

Chris.
A closed mouth gathers no foot. :thumbup:

hallie
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 10:11 am
Location: Cork Ireland

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by hallie » Wed Nov 09, 2016 10:53 pm

Download the scanner here and it will tell you what you have, what you are capable of running & what you need.

http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/systemscanner
TIP; Never take a sleeping pill and laxative on the same night
http://morrisonbhp.net/

User avatar
sirch345
Site Admin
Posts: 17041
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 9:35 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by sirch345 » Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:13 am

I'm not sure how accurate that Crucial scanner is as it shows a different model number than mine. Mine is a Medion Akoya E4080 D (MD8375). They say it's P4210 D (MD8370).

Image

Thanks for trying to help hallie :thumbup:

Chris.
A closed mouth gathers no foot. :thumbup:

hallie
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 10:11 am
Location: Cork Ireland

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by hallie » Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:33 am

Strange as it is usually spot on. From reading your screenshot you can double your ram. Another place to try is
https://www.mrmemory.co.uk/
TIP; Never take a sleeping pill and laxative on the same night
http://morrisonbhp.net/

User avatar
sirch345
Site Admin
Posts: 17041
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 9:35 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by sirch345 » Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:46 am

hallie wrote:Strange as it is usually spot on. From reading your screenshot you can double your ram. Another place to try is
https://www.mrmemory.co.uk/
Mr Memory has got the right model, they say the maximum RAM is 16GB. Crucial says it's 8GB, mind you that could be due to Crucial having the wrong model number.

Image


I'll wait and see if I get any joy from the manufacturers, if they state 16GB then I'll be happy with that figure,

Thanks for your help Hallie,

Chris.
A closed mouth gathers no foot. :thumbup:

hallie
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 10:11 am
Location: Cork Ireland

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by hallie » Thu Nov 10, 2016 2:54 pm

Upon further googling on your model, 16 is the figure that keeps coming back to me. So it would be safe to go with that IMHO :thumbup:
TIP; Never take a sleeping pill and laxative on the same night
http://morrisonbhp.net/

StuartWags
Posts: 855
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:00 pm
Location: Whaplode Drove, Lincolnshire

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by StuartWags » Thu Nov 10, 2016 3:01 pm

sheep like beast with curly tusks

User avatar
Mav617
Posts: 1850
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 7:20 pm
Location: Copthorne, W Sussex

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by Mav617 » Thu Nov 10, 2016 8:20 pm

Hi Chris,

What OS are you on as that can limit useable RAM - I'm assuming you're on Windows 10, 32bit or 64bit?

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 333?auth=1

http://www.ricksdailytips.com/windows-memory-limits/
I'm so unlucky that if there is such a thing as re-incarnation I'll come back as me!

User avatar
sirch345
Site Admin
Posts: 17041
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 9:35 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by sirch345 » Thu Nov 10, 2016 10:44 pm

hallie wrote:Upon further googling on your model, 16 is the figure that keeps coming back to me. So it would be safe to go with that IMHO :thumbup:
Thanks for taking a look I appreciate it :thumbup:
I'm not really too worried as I'm thinking about going to 2 X 4GB which is 8GB.
StuartWags wrote:sheep like beast with curly tusks
:lol: :thumbup:
Mav617 wrote:Hi Chris,

What OS are you on as that can limit useable RAM - I'm assuming you're on Windows 10, 32bit or 64bit?

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 333?auth=1

http://www.ricksdailytips.com/windows-memory-limits/
Hi Mav, yes I'm running Windows 10 home edition 64bit, at present using 4GB of RAM (2 X 2GB sticks)

Thanks for the links :thumbup:

Chris.
A closed mouth gathers no foot. :thumbup:

StuartWags
Posts: 855
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:00 pm
Location: Whaplode Drove, Lincolnshire

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by StuartWags » Fri Nov 11, 2016 12:17 pm

Asus P8Z77-V LX Socket 1155 on windows 10 now got 16GB but will take 64GB

User avatar
Mav617
Posts: 1850
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 7:20 pm
Location: Copthorne, W Sussex

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by Mav617 » Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:48 pm

sirch345 wrote:
hallie wrote:Upon further googling on your model, 16 is the figure that keeps coming back to me. So it would be safe to go with that IMHO :thumbup:
Thanks for taking a look I appreciate it :thumbup:
I'm not really too worried as I'm thinking about going to 2 X 4GB which is 8GB.
StuartWags wrote:sheep like beast with curly tusks
:lol: :thumbup:
Mav617 wrote:Hi Chris,

What OS are you on as that can limit useable RAM - I'm assuming you're on Windows 10, 32bit or 64bit?

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 333?auth=1

http://www.ricksdailytips.com/windows-memory-limits/
Hi Mav, yes I'm running Windows 10 home edition 64bit, at present using 4GB of RAM (2 X 2GB sticks)

Thanks for the links :thumbup:

Chris.
Then the world is your lobster :) (up to 128Gb, dependent on BIOS/motherboard limitations anyway)
I'm so unlucky that if there is such a thing as re-incarnation I'll come back as me!

User avatar
sirch345
Site Admin
Posts: 17041
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 9:35 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by sirch345 » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:30 pm

hallie wrote:Upon further googling on your model, 16 is the figure that keeps coming back to me. So it would be safe to go with that IMHO :thumbup:
You seem to be on the ball Hallie :thumbup:
I heard back from Medion, they say 16GB is the maximum too,

Chris.
A closed mouth gathers no foot. :thumbup:

hallie
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 10:11 am
Location: Cork Ireland

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by hallie » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:47 pm

No bother bud. The porn will not buffer too much now when streaming :lol:
TIP; Never take a sleeping pill and laxative on the same night
http://morrisonbhp.net/

User avatar
sirch345
Site Admin
Posts: 17041
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 9:35 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Computer experts, regarding RAM?

Post by sirch345 » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:49 pm

I'm not sure if that's a good thing or not :lol:

Chris.
A closed mouth gathers no foot. :thumbup:

Post Reply