Track Day gearing?

General Biker Banter
NZSpokes

Track Day gearing?

Post by NZSpokes »

I have a track day coming up on Sunday and Im a little undecided on gearing.

Rear is stock 41. I have either a 15 or 17 for the front. On the front straight im just hitting 200kph. With the 15 on its just under 8000rpm in 6th. Would it be better with the 17 which would mean I could stay in 5th much longer if not the whole straight?

Or should I go get a 16?
Miztaziggy

Re: Track Day gearing?

Post by Miztaziggy »

I'm no expert, but I would have thought you're better with the 15 for quicker acceleration. If you stick on a 17, you'll be in 5th for longer, but you probably won't reach as high a speed. I guess it's not a very long straight if you're only getting to 200Kph?

I would always rather have the acceleration out of the corners than the top speed in the straights.
popkat

Post by popkat »

Quicker acceleration doesn't always mean you go faster, the firestorm has a lot of engine braking and if you go down on the front sprocket you'll get the back wheel locking changing down gears, I would run standard front sprocket and one tooth bigger than standard on the rear, in fact I have run that gearing and won races on it..

An example of gearing, on the Katana I raced last year at Lydden hill which is a short circuit I had to put a bigger from sprocket on, this meant the bike was geared for about 145mph, yet top speed of the small 1 mile circuit is way lower than that, but I was able to get the bike into turns much better and still have drive out, I was just using different gears.

For more radical gearing on a firestorm you'd need a slipper clutch, then you won't have the wheel locking problem, but I think you'll get on just fine on the gearing I said above.
http://www.bidefordmotorcycles.co.uk
2014 CRMC Post classic Superbike champion.
2014 CRMC Post classic senior production champion. On a Suzuki Katana 1100