Advanced rider training?

General Biker Banter
trig

Advanced rider training?

Post by trig »

Hi all, first post here so don't be to harsh lol.
I have been riding on and off for 28 years and I am sure I have some bad habits that need correcting, so I have been thinking about some kind of advanced training. Just wondering what are your experiences of it.

If its taken by an ex or serving policeman will i have trouble with my loud exhausts?
Any recommendations of trainers in the Essex (Chelmsford/Maldon) area?

I know I can 'Google' to find places but that will only give an address, there's more value in the opinion of someone who's done the course.

Many thanks.
Trig.
trig
firestorm_al
Site Admin

Re: Advanced rider training?

Post by firestorm_al »

The training is worth its weight in gold IMHO. As long as the policeman is off duty then an exhaust shouldn't be an issue unless he is a complete Nazi (I haven't men an off duty cop who hasn't had a race can on their bike at some point.

If you approach it from the point of view of improving your riding and observation with the intent on continuing to try and improve your riding then that's the way to do it. I've seen some people do the training to gain their advanced riders certificate then once they have it all the training seems to go out the window (much like car drivers once they have passed their test).

I belive that I wouldn't be alive today had it not for undertaking training and trying to apply that and improve my riding everytime I am out.

Hope you find someone suitable and get the same out of it that I got.

Al.
Stratman

Post by Stratman »

Best things I ever did to improve my riding - both IAM and the Police Safe Rider courses.
Two bikes, still only four cylinders!

grumpyfrog

Post by grumpyfrog »

The police safe rider course can be eye opening. never underestimate how fast those guys can go on full tourers.
Don't hassle me
I'll get there at some time
trig

Post by trig »