New member finally upgraded from CB500 ; )

New here? Come in and introduce yourself
jchesshyre

New member finally upgraded from CB500 ; )

Post by jchesshyre »

Hello! I've been reading a lot of stuff on here since I got my red '98 VTR1000 a month ago and thought it was time I said hello.

I've been riding since 2002 and since 2008 have been bazzing around on a CB500, well two in fact - I put 145,000 miles on the first one and got another which I put 45,000 on. I loved the bike(s) to bits but have finally decided to upgrade. I had to have a twin and have been vaguely thinking about the Firestorm for some time but thought it was a bit less practical (which it is) which put me off. But I've finally caved and got myself a lovely red one with 29,000 on the clock. I absolutely love it to bits!

So far I've put a pair of Fuel silencers on it, changed all fluids, replaced clutch master and slave seals, changed the air filter, and synced the carbs and adjusted the pilot mixture. I've yet to open the carbs so it'll be interesting to see if the jets are original or not. I have a faint feeling they're not as it seems to need just under one turn out on the pilot screws which suggests it's maybe had bigger pilot jets fitted. Anyway it runs beautifully. I've also ordered a very nice pair of MCCTs (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/252424687355) which of course I shall be fitting ASAP.

The one really annoying problem it had was the (relatively) famous clutch squeal and grab when attempting to pull away with anything more than about 2.5k to 3k rpms. Well, yesterday I took the clutch apart to replace the clutch springs with some EBC ones, but in the process I found that the anti-judder spring and seat were between the final friction plate and plain plate, rather than right at the back. The clutch works beautifully now so I'm very happy!
countrymick

Re: New member finally upgraded from CB500 ; )

Post by countrymick »