New here? Come in and introduce yourself
marko

Post by marko »

morning all im mark from sunny hull in east yorks just picked up a mint 97 storm for a grand ,pics soon .ive had all sorts of bikes from a hand me down mobylette at 11 years old.i mainly restore 70,s 80,s hondas like the sl,xl.xr range but this the vtr appeared on local bumtree ad so i thought yeah why not,ive liked the sound of v twins,i owned a tl1000s 6 years ago ,stonking motor on them .took it for a blast yesterday although a bit wet and cold.first impressions are favourable i like the low down grunt and it makes you grin when the front wheel goes skyward.the bike is totaly stock so too quiet for me so ive bought some delkevics off flea bay,i can live with the vibes as im used to big trailies,but the clip ons have gotta go,im a builder so suffer a bit from joint ache and white finger,so will have to do a handlebar conversion,reading some posts on the forum it seems you have to chop the fairing to accept certain bars ,unless you fit straighter drag bars am i correct in saying this i really dont want to get my hacksaw out,big fun tho, you seem a friendly ,knowledgeable bunch ,ride safe all,marko
AMCQ46

Re: newbie

Post by AMCQ46 »

Welcome to the club Mark, I think you will enjoy the bike, especially if you do a flat bar conversion. That will make it feel like a 1000cc supermoto..

I did the flat bars on mine and I love it, don't know why I did 10yrs with clipons!! I think it is faster on the roads with the better leverage and visibility, and it wheelies better :D

I know you need to trim the fairing if you don't use straight "drag bars", but the ultra low bend renthals give you a much better riding position, that is still sporty but comfortable. Use a dremel with 2 of the thin cutting discs bolted on at the same time when triming the fairing and you won't even know it is not standard.

Have a look here
http://www.vtr1000.org/phpBB3/viewtopic ... 45#p240524
AMcQ
baycat

Post by baycat »