New (old) Member

New here? Come in and introduce yourself
bertye

New (old) Member

Post by bertye »

Hi all. I have brought myself a 1998 VTR last September. I have been riding a CBR750 hurricane for the last 20 years, which I still own and love. It has gear driven cam, which I wished all Honda's had, but alas, the cost. My VTR had already come with the CCT's done, and it has less than 13,000 on the clock, so should be fine there. It also come with a carbon fibre huger and short straight through exhaust. They are far to load, so have mode inserts for them till I make new cans for them. The 1st thing I done was to change all the brake and clutch fluid ( it should be change every 2 years), checked the air filter (bad) and checked it all over. The only mode's I have done so far, it to but a 6mm spacer for the rear shock (which I sell on eBay). I am now in the process of sorting out the handle bars which are a pain it the wrist. I'm 59 and 6"11/2". I have come up with 94 to 97 VFR bars which fit 41mm legs. I have offered them up and will fit with a small adjustments here and there. I will upload pictures when it is all done, if I can. They bring the bar back 12mm if fitted at the same angle and up 37mm at the end of the bar, plus there are 20mm wider (40mm in total), so a bit more leverage. I have been taking photos as a step by step process, and a before and after, so might upload if there is the interest. I am hoping it will be make it more comfortable to ride, plus gets ride of that vagueness in tight corners and small roundabout's. I don't get any of that on my CBR, and can throw it about in full confidence. To add, I am a Mechanic and an Engineer, so have no problem repairing and making part's that I need. I just love the grunt it has, but not it's cornering. I am sure it has been fiddled with a bit, as it seem to have more go that it should, and I have rode rather a lot of bikes to compare it with.
alanfjones1411

Re: New (old) Member

Post by alanfjones1411 »