Good evening ladies and gentlemen.

New here? Come in and introduce yourself
mdb

Good evening ladies and gentlemen.

Post by mdb »

Hello one and all.
My name is Mark and I have been riding for 30 years. Today I took custody of a 1999 VTR1000F in not quite shining red. It's a little tired, like me, with 26000 miles on the clock and 10 previous owners. It starts well enough on the choke, with a ticking noise from the engine. The ticking sounded like an early VFR750 with loose valve clearances. Could be a CCT starting to fail. I plan to strip it and thoroughly clean it over the next 8 weeks and replace the CCTs with manual versions. I have been reading a wide variety of posts during the previous week and I am impressed by the wealth of knowledge on the site. Armed with the Honda workshop manual and this site I feel ready to tackle any problems. I only hope my ricketty knees, hips and neck are up to the job of riding it.

Wishing you all a good years riding,
Mark
Kev L

Re: Good evening ladies and gentlemen.

Post by Kev L »

Welcome to the club Mark. Don’t be afraid to post up on here if you have any questions, there’s a lot of good guys with plenty of knowledge. :beer:
Carpe diem, quam minimum credula postero
F3, 954 USD front, K Tech springs, Braced swinger, Penske shock, Six spoke Mockesini wheels, Harris rearsets, QaT, Flywheel diet!, A&L stacks, stick coils, K&N, FP Ti jets, lashings of Ti & CF
alanfjones1411

Post by alanfjones1411 »

Welcome to the forum mark :thumbup: :wave:
SO WHEN DOES THIS OLD ENOUGH TO KNOW BETTER KICK IN
BigVeeGrin

Post by BigVeeGrin »

mdb wrote: Sun Mar 04, 2018 8:34 pm I only hope my ricketty knees, hips and neck are up to the job of riding it.
Welcome :thumbup:

Plenty on this site with similar afflictions and storm addictions
Kev L wrote: Sun Mar 04, 2018 8:50 pm ..., there’s a lot of good guys with plenty of knowledge. :beer:

second that - always helps us bad guys with bugger all knowledge :wink:

where in the world are you Mark?