Belly Pan Restoration

Need advice on which oil to use or which tyre best suits you? Share your topic and get help here.
markbo

Belly Pan Restoration

Post by markbo »

thought i'd show you all my winter project - i bought the 2 lower fairings from watty with the intention of restoring them
i've never done this before so any help and advice will be gratefully accepted!

when i got the lowers i phoned watty for a bit of help and he steered me in the right direction to start off so thanks for that :thumbup:
this will be a pretty long term project so i'm going to (try to) take it slowly and hopefully do a good job
having had experience of the dreaded yellow paint i think i'll go for a diferent colour when i finally get there - probably black, maybe gold?

here's the 2 fairings as i received them

the yellow one was in good nick but one side was split at the back and the 2 halves bent away from each other quite considerably

watty advised me to use a heat gun to bend it back to shape so that's what i did and i then joined the 2 halves with plastex
it didn't seem very strong to me tho so i added a straight bracket using the 2 holes that were already drilled into the fairing - i'm assuming they're not for anything cos they didn't look like neat factory drilled holes!? i then filled over the bracket as well with p38

here's the join in profile

that's as far as i've got with that one... next step will be to rub the 2 halves down, fill any holes with p38 and get it prepped and ready for priming

the red one had a long crack along the underneath and several splits in it in various places

as this one is fibreglass watty reckoned i'd be best off repairing it with fibreglass matting

looking on the internet the "experts" say to cut away the brittle crack and get back to solid fibreglass so that's what i did using a dremel

i also used the dremel to gouge away the other points where the fibreglass had split