Clutch problem

Need advice on which oil to use or which tyre best suits you? Share your topic and get help here.
Trevor77

Clutch problem

Post by Trevor77 »

i'm a complete newbie when it comes to bikes, but have bought myself a beautiful looking storm. I removed the front sprocket cover to clean the chain and when I put it all back together the clutch stopped working! There is no resistance to the lever. The fluid level is up to the max. What the @€%# have I done?
MacV2

Re: Clutch problem

Post by MacV2 »

Trevor77 wrote:i'm a complete newbie when it comes to bikes, but have bought myself a beautiful looking storm. I removed the front sprocket cover to clean the chain and when I put it all back together the clutch stopped working! There is no resistance to the lever. The fluid level is up to the max. What the @€%# have I done?
It's just a case of a bit of air getting in the system. With the cover off & the lever still in place it puts a bit of pressure on which pushes the slave cylinder out therefore allowing a bit of air in.

Bleed the clutch through it should come back fine.

For future reference when taking the cover off just take the lever off first.

Where are you based ? A local Stormer may be available to help out.

Mac
Making up since 2007, sometimes it's true...Honest...
Wicky

Post by Wicky »

All it needs is a good bleed. As the reservoir has a small capacity keep topping it as you bleed otherwise you risk air getting in.

Next time you fiddle with sprocket cover just tie the clutch lever back to avoid it happening again.
It may be that your whole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others.

ImageVTR Firestorm and other bikes t-shirts
Trevor77

Post by Trevor77 »

Amazing, cheers lads. I'll bleed it tomorrow. I'm based in BANBURY if there are any other stormers.
MacV2

Post by MacV2 »

Trevor77 wrote:Amazing, cheers lads. I'll bleed it tomorrow. I'm based in BANBURY if there are any other stormers.