Too Many Odds Stacked Against Us

General Bike chat
SILVTR

Too Many Odds Stacked Against Us

Post by SILVTR »

I'm quitting biking.

I love my FireStorm. I only have it since Feb 14 - my first time back on bikes since Nov 1999 - and God knows I drove my wife mental whining on about it till she let me get it :oops: . I've been riding bikes since 1992. I stopped riding in November 1999, when my first kid came along. I'd had an 88 FJ1200 since Nov 95, and loved it - went all over Ireland on it, commuted 5 days a week rain or shine.

Between April 92 and Nov 99, I was hit by a car once (broken arm), dropped the FJ twice (once cos of deisel in rain, once hitting the gas too hard on gravel), and got caught & let off for 125mph :lol: (not recorded) on an empty motorway - they're the only incidents I had in all that time.

Since I got the FireStorm, Ive been cautioned for crossing a (inappropriately placed) white line & doing around 70mph past an unmarked cop car, I narrowly miss incidents with cars every morning I commute by bike.

But the real clincher happened a couple of weeks ago - a Volvo estate pulled out of a junction on me as if I was invisible - that really put the shits up me. It really was inches-close.

I've always thought of myself as a competent, safe, observant rider, and I'll accept that there could be a hint of "born-again" rough-around-the-edges failings in my bike control now, but I know that my observation & anticipation is still good - if it wasn't, I wouldn't have been able to veer left enough for that Volvo not to hit me. But it seems now that there are a lot more morons on the road since I was last riding.

Or maybe I have a greater sense of my own mortality now that I have two lovely kids. I certainly don't want them lumbered with pushing their Dad around in a wheelchair till he dies. That bike safely ad on UTV is very effective, with the Mam feeding the baby and the Dad their bottles...