ccts

General Biker Banter
7057vtr

ccts

Post by 7057vtr »

I know this will sound sad but as i am new to biking i keep reading about the issues with ccts could somebody explain what they are. :?:
VTRDark

Re: ccts

Post by VTRDark »

Cam Chain Tensioner to keep the tension on the camchain. The standard Honda ones are auto adjusting but the little sring inside of them is a weak point and can fail at anytime without warning and cause the camchain to become slack to the point of valves or worse getting damaged costing a lot of money to basically have the engine rebuilt or at minimum a couple of replacement valves plus new cct's. You can either mod the original cct's so that when it fails it causes no internal damage to the engine and then get them replaced or fit manual cct's.

Some links regarding the Cam Chain Tensioners (CCT's)

CCT's can go at any time, it's a gamble!
You can either go for the stop mod http://www.vtr1000.org/phpBB3/viewtopic ... 31&t=19416 Which is the Honda auto CCT's that are converted to a fail safe. So when it does fail, it don't send the valves crashing.
Or
You go for the full manual conversion, your options are here http://www.vtr1000.org/phpBB3/viewtopic ... 16&t=22720

Then with regards to fitting View Topic View Topic http://www.vtr1000.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=8326

(:-})
==============================Enter the Darkside
StormingHonda

Post by StormingHonda »

Carl out of curiosity why is it the Firestorm ones damage the engine without warning, but yet, the I4s you can ride them with the CCTs gone and do no damage?.
VTRDark

Post by VTRDark »