1997 VTR EFI conversion and other tinkering (short video P4)

Show off your bike, modifications or projects and share them with the world.
4x2

1997 VTR EFI conversion and other tinkering (short video P4)

Post by 4x2 »

Mostly posting this here for future reference and for anyone else interested in trying the same thing;

So, VTR bought, knew about the horrendous fuel consumption, had some budget and parts lying about, needed a new simple project besides the eternal moneypit that's my trackday car.
Also, as a service engineer I'm away from home quite often and if history has shown me anything it's that carbs don't like sitting idle with fuel in them.

Current speclist (13-07-2020):
1997 VTR1000
VFR 90-93 clip ons
15T front sprocket
removed air filter ridge
48 pilots, jetting otherwise stock
CBR1000RR pencil coils (as I had them lying around, just for fun)
some cheap crapass chinese digital clock due to speed limits changing during the day
Homemade topcase rack, because carrying stuff on your back sucks

Let's start from the beginning: VTR looked quite nice when I bought it, the testdrive just showed head stock bearings that were well beyond gone, rattling clutch but nothing major.
Riding position was a bit sporty for me, so got some 90-93 VFR clip ons, problem 1 sorted.

Next one: replace the bearings and put in hyperpro springs F+R (not too interested in taking it on track and they're cheap enough)

Take apart the front end:

Old bearings were properly shot:

Heat up new bearings and make lunch in the airfryer:

Start on the back, the goal being to remove only the bare minimum (which turned out to be just the gear lever, besides the shock & linkage)

Everything back together (and yes, I'm aware the spring is upside down, couldn't be bothered to take it apart again):

Ok, all that done, decided to do a preliminary investigation into the EFI conversion.