Pissing fuel after standing for nearly 2 years

Need advice on which oil to use or which tyre best suits you? Share your topic and get help here.
Mike TW9

Pissing fuel after standing for nearly 2 years

Post by Mike TW9 »

Hi folks, any advice please?

Having been off the road since Dec 2020 & only started a few times during that period, the bike starts & can run normally for minutes, but pisses the contents of the tank onto the floor & conks out (I think when it runs out of petrol). The leak is a proper flow & comes not directly from the tank or petcock, but from below the airbox, approx. midway between the two cylinders & carbs when you look from the side.

I'm no real mechanic but the fact that it runs ok for a bit suggests to me that it isn't a stuck carb float or split/disconnected fuel pipe (I tried tapping them with a hammer at one point just in case)? I'm wondering if it could be a petcock issue with the leak coming from an overflow pipe? Or something else entirely? I did take the tank & airbox off to get a better look but TBH I didn't gain anything from it.

Grateful for any advice on what to do/try next!

With thanks in advance,

Mike
sirch345
Site Admin

Re: Pissing fuel after standing for nearly 2 years

Post by sirch345 »

It's possible that one of the needle-valves that regulates the flow of fuel is not closing off completely as the float rises with the carb filling with petrol hence it spilling out. The over filling of petrol in that carb could be choking that cylinder causing it to stall. Check first though all fuel lines for splits etc before delving into the carbs,

Chris
Pete.L
Forum Health And Safety Officer

Post by Pete.L »

My thoughts exactly.
If the petcock was gone it would be leaking all the time or not flowing at all.

Pete.l
My new ride is a bit of a Howler and I love to make her Squeal
Mike TW9

Post by Mike TW9 »

Thanks Chris & Pete!

Guess I'll work on that basis then, will update when I get round to it.

Cheers,

Mike
sirch345