VTR opinion

General Bike chat
humberty

VTR opinion

Post by humberty »

Hi I'm new to vtr and vtr1000.org.

I've seen a 2001 (Y reg) VTR 1000 F3 with less that 14000 miles on clock. It is red has a aftermarket exhaust cans and seems in good conditions (at least on the pictures). I'm planning to view it on saturday.
The worry is that the guy has apparently had it for 6 months running it with the MOT and tax left by the previous user. It has no MOT or road tax and I doubt it is currently insured (he apparently don't have the time to use it ).
+ the price is quite low 1800£ . It look like a good deal but as I am new to this bike, is there anything to hide ... or suspicious ?
AMCQ46

Re: VTR opinion

Post by AMCQ46 »

I dont see the fact it is out of MOT as an issue, but might be worth getting the existing owner to get that done as a proof of his confidence that it is clean.

I do think that £1800 as a top end price, so even if it was very very clean, you would want it MOT'd, new tyres, new battery, chain etc, otherwise I would be pushing down to £1500.

look for
1) any signs of a paint job touch up........paint match and all standard stickers etc
2) Are the CCTs converted to Manual?
3) check the lock stops for any damage as these bruise or bend in a crash
4) look for signs of instant gasket applied badly [using instant gasket is not a bad thing, but you can tell the quality of the mechanic by the mess he leaves behind!] in the engine cases, heads and cam covers.
5) does the condition of the running gear look right for the milage? stone chips on fork legs should be low for that milage.
6) proof of servicing.......filter and oil changes, even if done at home.......as to talk to the last owner?

hope that helps...............oh and because its red you are within your rights to knock the price down to compensate :lol:
AMcQ
humberty

Post by humberty »

I won't forget the fact that red bike are much quicker :beer: .