Depression is .......

New here? Come in and introduce yourself
Wobbly Hombre

Depression is .......

Post by Wobbly Hombre »

Hello one and all, my name is Skip i've been riding for nigh on 40 yrs on and off road. I have 5 other bikes in various states of ... "off the road atm", so I just bought myself a '99 yellow one with 18k on it last week-end. Wonderful machine to blast those blues away with :D . I have used exactly 1 tank full of the precious liquid, filled up again yesterday to go for a proper ride ...... when ....... 6 miles down the road the Cam Chain Tensioner did the wild thing :cry: Absolutely gutted. It was on my to do list .... the first having been done (new front tyre). Went spannering today and converted the old cct into a manual one and found out that the chain jumped the cogs + maybe bent some hardware :cry: So more spannering next week .... just can't stomach any more today.
I also play guitar ..... strangely enough blues.
This is my other road bike ... its a heavily modified (both inside the engine and externally) Benelli sex pot she's called Grace and we've been together for 16 years now:
VTRDark

Re: Depression is .......

Post by VTRDark »

With a name like skip you must be an aussie. :) Welcome to the forum. :beer: :beer:

That's rather unfortunate that your tensioners failed just after getting the bike. Plenty of info on the forum regarding tensioners. Have a look through the workshop knowlagbase. You will find info on setting the timing in there. Better to use that guide as there are some manuals on the market that have got it wrong with detrimental effects. Lets hope you are lucky and the valves have not bent. Should be a simple swap of tensioners then.

(:-})
==============================Enter the Darkside
agentpineapple

Post by agentpineapple »